Turner Prize Shortlist Announced

May 9, 2010 § Leave a comment

Tate has announced the four names gracing the shortlist for the 2010 edition of the Turner Prize: sound artist Susan Philipsz, painters Dexter Dalwood and Angela de la Cruz, and the two-member film art Otolith Group, composed of Anjalika Sagar and Kodwo Eshun.

Critics are already rushing to shape the debate on the nominees for the annual prize, which awards £25,000 to an artist under the age of 50.

Work by all four finalists will go on display at Tate Britain on 4 October 2010, and the winner will be announced on 6 December 2010.

Last year’s Turner Prize was won by Richard Wright (see image below), who is represented by the Gagosian Gallery, which will have a chance to net back-to-back wins, as it represents Dalwood.

For more information, visit: www.tate.org.uk/britain/turnerprize/

Fact: The Turner Prize, which was established in 1984 to promote contemporary art, is named after the 19th-century painter J.M.W. Turner. Past winners include Damien Hirst, Martin Creed, Wolfgang Tillmans, and Tomma Abts.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

What’s this?

You are currently reading Turner Prize Shortlist Announced at Little Black Book of Art & Design.



Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

%d bloggers like this: